ANCIENT FAITH RADIO INTRODUCES DAILY BROADCAST OF “THE PATH”


CHICAGO, January 24, 2007 -- Ancient Faith Radio will broadcast a new program beginning Monday, January 29th, called, “The Path,” featuring daily scripture readings and commentary on the lectionary of the Orthodox Church. The ten minute daily offering, broadcast three times per day, will also be available via download on the Ancient Faith Radio website. Hosted by Father Thomas Soroka, and produced in conjunction with Ancient Faith Radio, the new project is slated to meet the needs of Orthodox Christians through cutting edge technology.

The broadcast will feature readings from the daily epistles and gospels as well as the readings of the major feast days of the church. Lenten fare will include appropriate readings from the Old Testament. Thoughtful words inspired by traditional Orthodox commentary and writings will also be featured as well as references to the commemorations of the Saints. The broadcasts will air at 7:00 am CT/8:00 am ET, 11:30 am CT/12:30 pm ET, and 10:00 pm CT/11:00 pm ET, Monday through Friday.

“Our listeners are asking for more content which supports growth in their spiritual life,” commented John Maddex, founder and general manager of Ancient Faith Radio, and member of the Board of Directors of the National Religious Broadcasters. “We’re excited about the possibilities of this broadcast as we continue to expand our offerings, and we’re glad to have Fr Tom on board working together with us on this important project.”

Fr Thomas Soroka, rector of St Nicholas Orthodox Church in McKees Rocks, PA, near Pittsburgh, and member of the executive board of the Department of Evangelization for the Orthodox Church in America, will host the daily program. “It’s very important that Orthodox Christians become familiar with the scriptures, not only with the readings they hear on Sundays, but the entire, rich lectionary of our Faith,” stated Fr Tom. “We encourage everyone to read the word of God for their own spiritual growth, but we also acknowledge that there is a need for recorded material to bring the scriptures into the lives of busy people. I look forward to working together with Ancient Faith Radio to develop this daily broadcast.”

Plans include offering the daily broadcast as a free download which can be played at any time. It will also be available as a podcast via RSS subscription for users of iTunes®, as well as users of iPods® and other MP3 players.

An audio announcement and introduction of “The Path” is available at http://www.ancientfaithra....

# # #

Ancient Faith Radio, founded in December, 2004, is a ministry of All Saints Orthodox Church in Chicago and a leading provider of Orthodox Christian content via internet streaming audio, 24 hours a day.