Skip to Navigation

Thanks and Congratulations from DOWAMA Parish Life Conference

His Grace Bishop Basil writes:

Many thanks to Fr. John Mefrige and the congregation of St. Ephraim Church in San Antonio, Texas for hosting a truly outstanding 2014 DOWAMA Parish Life Conference this past Wednesday through Saturday, June 11-15, 2014. Special thanks to the PLC co-chairs Samira Bitar and Carmen Britt and their hardworking committees. GO SPURS GO!

Many years to those who will serve as presidents of our Diocese's service organizations for the 2014-2015 year: A.B. Bayouth of St. Antony in Tulsa, Oklahoma for the Fellowship of St. John the Divine; Deanna Bottei of St. Thomas Church in Sioux City, Iowa for the Antiochian Women; Barry Busada of St. Nicholas Church in Shreveport, Lousiana for the Order of St. Ignatius of Antioch; and Alex Wakim of St. George Cathedral in Wichita, Kansas for Teen SOYO.

Congratulations to Peyton Powers of St. Elijah Church in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, senior division winner of the 2014 DOWAMA Oratorical Festival; The Teen Team from St. George in Houston, Texas and The Adult Team from St. Joseph Church in Houston, Texas, winners of the 2014 DOWAMA Bible Bowl; and Jessika Nebrat of St. George Cathedral in Wichita, Kansas, recipient of the "Harry and Florence Kouri Memorial Scholarship for a 2014 DOWAMA High School Graduating Senior."

The 2015 DOWAMA Parish Life Conference, which will celebrate the centenary of the repose of St Raphael of Brooklyn, will be hosted by Fr. George Shawareb and the congregation of St. Elias Church in Arvada, Colorado.